Childlike

My little cousin came over for a playdate a few days ago. She reminds me of a sunflower, so I’m going to refer to her as Sunflower for the purposes of this blog.

She came into my room and knelt behind where I was sitting on my computer, attempting to write something. She happened to kneel down right next to the picture of Jesus that my Dad drew (with some help from the Holy Spirit, as he always clarifies) a few years ago. It’s Jesus on the cross just after He’s breathed His last.

“Hey, you!” I greeted her. I turned around to see her contemplating this picture.

She leaned over and kissed Him on the cheek.

I let out an “Awwwwhh!”

She beamed at me and started to speak with a stuttering, relentless excitement, “Uhm! Siobhan! What if! Why don’t! Uhm! Why don’t… like… Like… You and your Mum and your Dad like… Uhm! Stand on a street corner and… like… Why don’t you say, ‘everyone! Come up and sign the painting!’?”

“Uhm… Why would we do that, Sunflower?”

“Because… because then it would be like a signed poster or something of the people who believe in Jesus and love Him and the people that… that He believes in and who He loves.”

“Did you know that there’s actually already a book of that? It’s in Heaven and it’s called the Book of Life?”

Her eyes went wide, “Really?”

“Yep… and did you know that God has us all written on the palm of His hand?”

“REALLY?”

“Yes!”

She looked shy all of a sudden as she asked, “…Even me?”

“Especially you, Sunflower.”

“Wooooooooooowwwww,” she breathed. She looked back at the picture and her eyes lit up.

Matthew 9:14
Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

Leave a comment