Life Lessons I Learnt From Disney #1

Be Prepared: Scar 
When people tell me to “Be Prepared”, generally my response is “Nope”.
Even though he’s obviously crazy, Scar from Lion King taught me something positive about being prepared and chasing your dreams.

Not only is his song in Lion King literally one of the Five Habits I’m trying to develop, the refrain is actually kind of uplifting… depending on how you look at it.

So Be Prepared for the chance of a lifetime!
Be Prepared for sensational news!
A shining new era is tiptoeing nearer… 

At this point in the movie, Scar is talking about killing his brother and taking over the kingdom… I’m definitely not suggesting that fratricide is a sure fire way of adulting, just so we’re clear.

The thing I would like to point out is that too often, we are told to Be Prepared for failure, rather than success. For example, I want to be on Broadway one day. When I told the careers counsellor at my school, they suggested that I take up hospitality because I’d probably end up waitressing for the rest of my life and at some point, they would need help in the kitchens. Teenage angst reared its ugly head that day, lemme tell ya.

Don’t get me wrong – it’s only practical to have a back up plan and I get that… but I’ve struggled with making my back up plan my only plan.

I’ve noticed that at some point in most people’s lives (and this includes me), we tend to convince ourselves that our wildest dreams are impossible to achieve. NO THEY AREN’T! If I have a thing that I want to do, then I should just do it…
(So long as it’s not hurting anyone – like I said, Scar’s way of going about things isn’t the right way).
I shouldn’t just assume that good things will just come to me. I have to work hard if I expect results… but I should Be Prepared for my success. I like what Scar says, crazy though he is, because it reminds me that even though I might easily fail, I might just as easily succeed, and I need to prepare for the awesome as much as I prepare for the not awesome.

Stay fabulous… Like our buddy Scar.

Leave a comment